The Group is made up of around 80 members currently, some of whom have been with us from the outset in 2010. We have a Committee, made up of:

  Group’s Convenor – Chris Wright
After opening the Jubilee Refreshment Rooms at the station in 2010, Chris reflected on how run down the station and its surroundings were and gradually, after several conversations with a few regular visitors using Hebden Bridge railway station as an inspiration, he formed a small group of like-minded people who felt passionate about improving the station for local people and to attract visitors to the town.
  Secretary – Lauren Brundell
Lauren joined the Group at its first meeting in 2010 after seeing a poster about starting up a ‘Friends’ group.  She has a keen interest in local and social history, and took on the roll of Secretary to help co-ordinate our Group meetings and notices, amongst other things.  Lauren is also a member of Friendly Band (Sowerby Bridge). 
  Membership Secretary – John Myddleton
Details to be updated soon. 
  Treasurer – Jim Milner
Jim joined the Group in November 2010 and took on the role of Treasurer for the Friends of Sowerby Bridge Railway station. His responsibilities include accounting for the Group’s financial transactions; banking; managing the inventory of the Group’s assets and submission of the annual accounts. Jim has a finance background, working for Calderdale MBC for 32 years before retiring in 2006. He lives locally in Sowerby Bridge. 
  Sponsorship Co-ordinator and Archivist – John Hartley
John was one of the founder members of the Friends of Sowerby Bridge Railway Station. He manages the distribution of the Groups' quarterly newsletter; conducts research on the history of the station, its events and former employees; and organises all aspects of the Sponsored Planter Scheme. He is a member of the Groups' 'strategy team' and participates in all other meetings and the practical activities of the Group. Now retired, John lives locally in the Sowerby Bridge area.
  Grants and Local Schools Co-ordinator
  Honorary President – John King
John King started work at age 15 as an engine cleaner.  Within a year he had qualified as a fireman, and continued his employment with British Railways until 1964.  Apart from brief spells at Consett and Didcot, he was based at Sowerby Bridge Shed.  He maintains a keen
interest in steam engines and railways in general.  Now retired and living at Barkisland, John was asked to take on the role of Honarary President of the Group in 2011. 
  Independent Examiner – John White
Details to be updated soon. 
  PR & Marketing - Wendy Riordan
Wendy joined the Friends Group in February 2011, after the Group’s Treasurer (Jim Milner) asked for support with launching a newsletter for the Group. Given the Group’s Treasurer is her father, it wasn’t long before she was helping the Group with wider initiatives such as the station users’ survey; building a PR network; delivering the quarterly newsletters and getting involved with the Group’s ‘strategy team’ to help shape the Group’s agenda.